"Free" On Demand show not actually free.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: "Free" On Demand show not actually free.

Klynnrn1966
Character Actor
Same thing with Outlander Starz channel, false advertising😤

Major Havoc
Cinematographer

@Chadt4141 wrote:
It is free as in the same way that the toy in the cereal box is free. It is complimentary, as what you’re paying for is the linear channel. On demand is a complimentary service.

One again, I disagree. The set top knows what I have subscribed to and what I have not. A button that says "Free" does not mean free IF or Free WHEN, it means no charge. I would call this a bug. The button should say either FREE if subscribed and SUBSCRIBE if not. 

Saying Free should not require that one has to know if it is truly free or maybe free or had to do something else first. As a UI designer, I would call this a bad UI because, if for no other reason, it is causing confusion right here. That is the definition of a bad UI. 

DISH Employee

Good morning, Major Havoc! That is a wonderful suggestion and I will make sure to forward it to our back office for review!

martinkdall
Extra

I do not not have I subscribed to HBO.  So, why did it let me watch seasons 1 thru 7.3 of Game of Thrones and now has deciced to cease doing so?

'splain that to me Lucy.

DISH Employee

Martinkdall, you should only have access to On Demand content from HBO if you are subscribed to HBO. If you do not have HBO added to your account, you should not have access to the On Demand content. 

Highlighted

JAZ
Extra