Why the "New" Tag on all DVR recordings?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why the "New" Tag on all DVR recordings?

paulrbush
Extra
I'm relatively new to Dish and have been confused by the Hopper 3 interface and remote control. The UI seems quite buggy and non-intuitive. One thing in particular that drives me nuts is that the "New" tag is on most of my DVR recordings yet when I open them, all the shows have been viewed. So what good is it? Is there a way for it to truly represent that there is a new recording that hasn't yet been watched?
11 Replies

Re: Why the "New" Tag on all DVR recordings?

stile99
Cinematographer
paulrbush wrote:
I'm relatively new to Dish and have been confused by the Hopper 3 interface and remote control. The UI seems quite buggy and non-intuitive. One thing in particular that drives me nuts is that the "New" tag is on most of my DVR recordings yet when I open them, all the shows have been viewed. So what good is it? Is there a way for it to truly represent that there is a new recording that hasn't yet been watched?

Well...there's supposed to be a progress bar, and when you look at the recording's info page, if it has been watched, it will be filled in. But as you note, the UI is a bit buggy and I've seen it happen a LOT where a show will be completely watched, but the bar still shows at 0%.

That 'new' tag is supposed to indicate the episode is new, as opposed to a rerun. But at this point I assume it goes without saying that I've also seen that not work correctly either. To be fair though, I think that is a broadcast flag, so when a show from 1988 has the new tag, that's not the Hopper having a seizure, that's "ClassicChannelTV" using the tag incorrectly because it's the first broadcast on 'their' channel.

JSracer
Audio Engineer
were the recordings a new episode ??
i think thats what it refers to.

DISH Employee