Support for external hard drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Support for external hard drives

Scarlyt
Character Actor

Can anyone (preferably someone from Dish) explain to all of us why nothing has been done about the fact that the only external hard drives that are supported are WD 2TB My Book drives when they aren't made or sold anymore?  Why has nothing been done about this when they knew in plenty of time before the supply ran out that 2TB external hard drives with their own power supplies were disappearing and unable to be purchased anywhere?  Dish prides itself on being up with the times in technology and yet we customers now find ourselves in a situation where we can't save anything anymore because the only drives that are supported don't exist.  I've been asking about this for a couple years now since the supply started disappearing and WD stopped making anything smaller than a 4TB (those will be going away soon too).  Why can't something be done about this?  A lot of customers will soon be looking elsewhere to other companies that do support larger hard drives, and leaving Dish for this reason.  You can be current with technology when only supporting such out of date tech that it basically doesn't exist anymore.